Finally Some New Clothes!

After first not having time, then not having space, on to not having sewing-mojo, I finally got back to sewing. It became neccessary because I had a serious lack of butt-covering workout tops.

I’m sure those of you who know me for a long time had to go back and re-read that sentence. Yes, I wrote workout. I started doing some physical activity becides cycling. It’s nothing big though, don’t get overexcited! We’ll see how long I’ll have the stamina to do so. So far I really like it though, so much so that I even made an outfit. Well, just the top, but still. Here it is on Berta, the “perfect copy of me“:

Front view – I liked the cowl and the ruched side seam

Back view – Nothing special, really

I finally got around to making her a leg. She is now decorating our guest room, as seen from the last apartment update post. So far I didn’t take advantage of her being erect, thoug, as I didn’t make anything that needed fitting. The top above is number 130 from the Burda Style magazine 09/2012. It came together very quickly and easily and I already plan to make another one with fabric from my stash.

EDIT: I just wore it to yoga class (that’s what I got myself into) and it’s not really useful. The cowl keeps falling over the face in the downward positions and that’s not¬†entirely helping me with the breathing…

The other thing I made is a very loose purple silk/cotton blend blouse. I will have to wear it with a belt or tucked into high waisted trousers, as it is decidedly sack-shaped:

Not very figure-flattering, is it?

Cinched version – a lot better

It was rather easy to make, but still took me two days to complete, because I made my own bias tape. I used Sarai’s (from Colette Patterns) technique, which is easy and in principle not very time consuming, but the fabric I used was behaving rather flimsily. Also, I got into a bit of a perfectionist mode and hand-basted the bias tape. Anyway, as usual the top is not perfect, but good enough for me.

Apart from those two tops I already started on a Sorbettoin the same fabric as the sack-blouse. It’s almost done, I only have to apply the bias tape. However, after the long time it took me to complete the other top, I’ll wait a little bit for the university workload to get smaller (read: after Christmas). It’s getting closer to the end of the semester and I have a ton of coursework to finish in the next two or three weeks. But I wouldn’t be me if I hadn’t found a way of procrastinating. Here it is, the “Procrastination Project Fall Semester 2012″:

Knitting of all things!

To recount: Since I moved here I started spending hours and hours outdoors, started some sort of sports and now knitiing! What is this country doing to me?!

Leave a Reply

