Me-Made-May(ish)

Warning: some maternity related content ahead (well, actually just pictures). Plus sewing and knitting. Don’t complain afterwards that I didn’t tell you!

While I was initially sad that I had missed the sign-up for Me-Made-May AGAIN, I’m quite happy now. I didn’t really have time to take pictures all week, though I’ve been wearing a me-made-item every day so far. That’s not as difficult as it may sound, as I’ve stayed home most of the time, writing parts of my thesis (deadline met, thankyouverymuch). Well, when I’m home, I’m wearing lounge pants, and since I own only me-made ones, that’s kind of cheating, I think.

Nonetheless, I’d like to show some of the self made clothes I am wearing right now. (Nonetheless… pfffff… can you tell I just wrote a heck of a lot of academic stuff?). Since I started sewing again, I don’t like to shop anymore. Maternity clothes are no exception. So I make do with what I have on hand until I get some new stuff done.

Lounging Outfit – Courtesy of BurdaStyle

The outfit above is apparently my lounging outfit. The top is the Burda Style 02/2013 top #113, the bottom is my second (unblogged) rendition of the Burda Style 08/2011 pants #130. While the top is perfectly fine to wear as is, let me show you a little secret:

Keeping It Loungey – Keeping it Loose

I can’t close the pants anymore. But since they stay up even partially unbuttoned, I don’t see why I shouldn’t wear them. Neither of the patterns are maternity patterns, but work quite well at this stage of pregnancy.

My swirly top is another one of those non-maternity patterns that work perfectly fine with a bigger equator:

Goofing Around in My Swirly Top – Burda Style 01/2014 #122

Another one is my Colette Chantilly:

Colette Chantilly – Worn as maternity dress

Thanks to the inevitable body-changes, I now actually fit the bust even without a padded bra (that I can’t stand wearing atm anyway). Also, due to my freakishly long torso it’s an empire-line dress, which is probably why it made me look a bit stumpy. But I’m not complaining too much, I feel extremely cute when wearing it now because it’s just the perfect bodice length with a bit of a bump.

I know I styled it in exactly the same way as in that first post, but that’s how I’ve always worn it so far. The Peggy Sue is just the perfect cardigan for this dress. Plus, it’s now the perfect length, just above the bump. It is so great, that I made a second one:

Talking of Keeping it Loungey – Very Loose front

This one is done in a different yarn (ravelry notes), and it stretched a lot when blocking. It looks like a completely different cardigan, but I love it!

Talking of Keeping it Loungey – Very Loose back

I like the back view a lot better (and not just because my face looks weird in the first picture), it kind of reminds me of a swing jacket.

So these are some of the outfits I wear recently, with lots of repeats. But I’m currently sewing my first maternity dress, which should improve things a bit.

Thanks for stopping by, and have a nice mother’s day!

4 thoughts on “Me-Made-May(ish)

  1. You look so happy and pretty in these pictures! I love the Burda top and your innovative way of wearing trousers! Great lining on them btw!

    Like

Leave a Reply

