Some More Bye Bye Food

By popular demand IRL, I’m putting up these two recipes. Again, they are very easy and fast(ish) to make. The first one is a dish that helped win over my PB’s heart:

Hummus!

This truly is easy and fast, with very good results. It’s slightly adapted from a recipe I found on the recipe database of Betty Bossi.

Ingredients for a smallish bowl
1 can chickpeas (ca. 450g), drained, 3/4 of the liquid saved
1 tablespoon tahini (sesame paste)
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
Cumin powder to taste
1 clove of garlic
Salt

Preparation
Place all the ingredients in a blender, blend well. A stick blender works best.

The next one was an extension of the winning over of PB:

Babaganush / Mutabal

So, I know this as babaganush, but in the cookbook I got this recipe from it’s called mutabal. Sometimes it’s also known as aubergine / eggplant caviar. It’s not as fast as the hummus above, but equally easy.

Ingredients for a smallish bowl
1 big aubergine / eggplant (ca. 500g)
1 small clove garlic, squeezed
4 tablespoons (ca. 70g) sesame butter (or tahini)
150g natural yoghurt (optional)
Juice of 1/2 lemon or lime
Salt
Cumin powder to taste

Preparation
Heat oven to 230°C. Cut the aubergine / eggplant in half lengthwise, place in the oven (cut side facing up) for about 45 minutes (until peel is brown / black). Scoop the flesh with a sharp spoon into a blender. Blend well with the other ingredients. A stick blender works best.

The cookbook I got this from is “Safran & Kardamoom” by Rita Henss. It contains beautiful photos and graphics. I got it as a birthday present in 2009, and it’s been on display on my bookshelf ever since. Thanks, Heidi, for the great present!

2 thoughts on “Some More Bye Bye Food

  1. Dear Aline,
    You might remember me back from Unibern linguistic lectures… we used to discuss nail varnishes …:-)! I tried your Humus and Babaganiush recipes and was totally awed by the results! Thx so much. Have a question though: where did u buy Tahini when bach in switzerland? I tried the one from rapunzel but it tastes very bitter… Wishing u all best whereever u are at the mo!
    Best, sarah daepp

    Like

    • Hi Sarah!
      I sure remember! Nice to hear from you!
      I’m very happy you enjoyed the recipes. When still living in Switzerland I used the brand “Al Wadi”, which I found in our neighborhood’s Coop. They don’t carry it in all Coops, so maybe going to either a big one, or one in a more migrant based neighborhood might be fruitful.
      I know what you mean by bitter. I tried a different brand in Finland and the result was not as good as usual. Luckily I found it again in a Middle Eastern shop (that might also be a good place to look).
      How is it going? Are you still in Bern? I guess you finished studying? It would be nice to hear a little from you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

