Still no Sewing – But a Recipe

While my tiredness has passed and my “cutting table” is finally rid of the mess, I still haven’t brought myself to use it. But instead, since I do cook almost every day, I thought I’d share another recipe with you. And also with me, because I tend to forget how I make this and have to painfully dig out the memory with an intense hypnosis session… (Hahahaha! Just kidding!)

Anyway, this recipe involves one of my favourite vegetables: Swiss chard. It is, according to Wikipedia, extremely healthy and full of all the good things like vitamins, minerals, fibres and even protein. I like it because of it’s mild but erathy taste. One of my Grandma’s used to grow it in her garden, and hence we had it often at her place. She only used the stems of it, though. So for a long time I thought the leaves were not edible. Turns out I was very wrong. Not only are they edible, they’re equally delicious as the stems, but a bit stronger in taste. The only drawback of this great veggie is that it’s highly seasonal (Spring). And that I havent seen it in supermarkets here (doesn’t mean much, though, as I wasn’t here last spring, also the fact that it has a Finnish name (lehtimangoldi) gives me hope).  So why am I publishing the recipe now? Well, because I can! 😀

And because I just found the picture from last time I made it:

Swiss Chard Gratin

I know, I know. Another Gratin. I just love this stuff! The recipe is based on one I found in the Swiss cookbook “Vielseitige Gemüseküche” by Betty Bossi. The book doesn’t have an ISBN (International Standard Book Number), so I guess it’s only available in Switzerland. Which is a pity, because, let me tell you, Betty Bossi is a (fictional) cooking goddess. She single-handedly changed the cooking habits of Swiss people. Unfortunately most of the cookbooks are only available in German or French. Which is why I don’t feel too bad in publishing this recipe here (plus, it’s and adaptation, so there!). If you understand either French or German, or both, I suggest getting one of her books (or check out the website, there are also free recipes). If not, there is one available in English: The Swiss Cook Book (Amazon link).

Swiss Chard Potato Gratin
Serves 3-4, depending on hunger levels

Ingredients
250ml (1 cup) of water
1 tsp of salt
1 tsp lemon juice
1kg Swiss chard, leaves removed and sliced in thin slices, stems peeled and cut in 5cm pieces
500g potatoes, peeled and cut in slices
50g smoked tofu (or bacon) diced
1 onion, diced
1 Tbsp butter or oil
180g sour cream
Salt, pepper and ground muscat to taste
2 Tbsp grated cheese (Greyerz is best, but use whatever you like that melts nicely and has a bit of a taste)

Preparation
Preheat oven to 220°C, grease a casserole dish. Then bring water, salt and lemon juice to a boil in a small pot. Add chard stems and potatoes and let simmer for about 15 minutes, until slightly soft, then drain. Meanwhile, sauté the onions and tofu (or bacon) in the butter in a large pan for about 1 minute. Add chard leaves, stir and contiue to sauté until they start to wilt. Season with salt, pepper and ground muscat. Add the sour cream and bring to a boil. Add the softened chard stems and potatoes to the casserole dish, cover with the chard leaves mixture. Sprinkle with the cheese and gratinate in the preheated oven for about 20 minutes, until the cheese has turned golden brown. Serve still hot.

P.S: yes, I’m still supposed to be working on my thesis. D’oh!

11 thoughts on “Still no Sewing – But a Recipe

  1. Oh, Betty Bossi, I read and hear the name so many times during our time in Zürich that of course googled to find out “who” she is ;).
    I’m sorry, it’s difficult to find “lehtimangoldi” from the supermarkets, let’s hope that they import some…

    Like

    • She’s quite the phenomenon, isn’t she. 🙂
      I was afraid it was difficult, as our neighours have never heard of lehtimangoldi, or even mangoldi, for that matter. 😦

      Like

  2. Aiii! It’s been so long since I looked at blogs and I really missed you! And you’ve been so busy! I love the food posts and that swirly top is AMAZING! What a fantastic seamstress you are! I, meanwhile, have still not posted anything, but I am going to try to force myself to write something soon… Good luck with the thesis (I’m sure it’ll be finished in no time!) and I hope you had a fantastic time in Lapland (yes, I am very jealous!)! Sending you lots of sunshine from Singapore! 🙂

    Like

    • Helllooooooo! Yay, you’re back! *does a little dance* I missed you too! What have you been up to? Had you been back in Europe for Christmas? How was Chinese new year?
      Swirly top, I like that! Might keep the name.
      I didn’t feel like blogging at all in January and Februray, all I wanted to do was sleep. It seems a lot of people I follow had a bit of a January funk, so no worries. Can’t wait to see what you’re up to next, though!
      I’ll surely write a post about Lapland, so you can see all the snowy glory! (Which here didn’t turn up this year, just slush 😦 )
      Have a good day!

      Like

      • Ha ha! Thank you for the dance! I am doing one myself while I type this! Very glad to hear you like the name I gave your top – swirly top would be excellent for twirling around in on the dancefloor!

        I’ve not been back to Europe yet, but I have just come back from Hanoi. Hanoi was AMAZING! So much tasty coffee, friendly people, beautiful streets (like an old tumbledown tropical Paris), and, best of all, cold rain! So awesome! I even got to wear a jumper which was extremely exciting!

        So sad to hear you had no snow (maybe all the Singapore sunshine I sent you melted it?!), but I can’t wait to hear about Lapland! Did you have a good Christmas? And how was Rome?

        I still need to actually write a post, but I’ve been busy knitting and sewing as much as ever! Are you Instagram? I hang out there a lot and avoid writing blog posts… 😉 Hope your thesis is zooming along!

        Like

      • Wow, your holidays sound really great!
        I spent 1 month in Rome and Switzerland, and naturally Rome was just amazing! I love visiting there! (Also because if the cooking of my mother-in-law…)
        Christmas was nice, but my mum gave me a mixer (one of the big ones) and I had to first take it to Rome and then here. The security checks at the airports were quite unusual… 😀
        I’m not on Instagram much, but will check you out now! 😉
        P.S: Do you wear shorts?

        Like

      • Wowee! That’s a lot of holidays! I went to Rome years ago, but I remember the fantastic food well! Lucky you to have such a wonderful cook of a mother-in-law! Those big mixers are AMAZING! Just think of all the tasty bread & pasta you can make with such little effort…

        I’m under my “real” name on Instagram (bethmharley) – what is yours? I will keep my eyes peeled for you!

        No, I don’t wear shorts very often! I know it’s a little unusual for someone who lives in this heat, but I’m super self-conscious of my cycling legs & shorts make them look even more muscular! Do you wear them often either?

        Like

      • I’m lucky that I have a light load at uni. Heck I’m just generally lucky to have so much time!
        I had always dreamed of having a kitchen aid (for the design) but this one is also great, as it has more functions. I already made bread every weekend, but now it’s so much faster and easier! Should try pasta next, thanks for the reminder!

        I am under… I don’t remember. Let me check. Yup, lazylinchen. But have only 2 pictures on there, as my cellphone is too crappy to support the app. 😦

        I didn’t wear shorts for a long time. I didn’t wear skirts either. I wore long pants all summer long in my teens and tweens because I was super self-conscious about them. They are rather short in respect to my torso, very white and rather flabby. Plus, even when I was at a BMI of under 18 at 16 years old, I had cellulite. But recently I decided to not give two fraks and now love to wear them a lot. The insanely hot weather in Sicily surely helps that decision, though… 😉

        I’m still trying to come up with a pettern for the sew bossy exchange… So the Chataigne are out…

        Like

      • Sorry! I wish I could get over the whole shorts thing, but I do wear short skirts & dresses now so I’m getting better! The Chataigne are so cute though! Maybe when I move back to Europe & can wear tights underneath, I will change my mind… You look very slim to me so I’m sure you look great in shorts! It’s funny how we view ourselves, but I think getting older definitely helps to stop caring so much about how we think we look (as opposed to actually look).

        Yes! We should definitely do Sew Bossy! I have been giving lots of thought to what pattern to send you, but I think I have some ideas now!

        Fresh pasta is super tasty! I’m a coeliac so have to make nearly everything from scratch & buckwheat pasta is one of my favourites! I do really miss “proper” fresh bread though!

        Like

  3. Oh, your Gratins always look so delicious! Maybe we can cook together some day? 😛 Sad to find out that the Swiss Chard are not easily available here… Maybe we can try growing some? I’ve been planning to try out hydroponics and it seems to be quite perfect for leafy vegetables.

    Like

    • Thank you! I in turn am always getting hungry looking at your chicken dishes. 😀
      Cooking together sounds so much fun! I’d love to!
      I thought about growing some, but I have a really black thumb. So if you took did it, it would probably turn out a lot better! A quick google turned up that it is suitable for hydroponics, so this might be great summer project!

      Like

Leave a Reply

