The Traveling Never Stops

The Traveling Never Stops

Though the blogging apparently does. Or should I say “takes extended breaks”? πŸ˜› Again, usually I wouldn’t have written up this post 2 months after the trip (eeek! Where does time go?) But again, it was something special, so I want to document it. πŸ™‚ After we got back home from Paris, we had three weeks of rest. We celebrated Christmas (at least the part when Santa Claus gives the presents) together with our neighbours in the common room. Then, for new year we went to Lapland. This was our third time (first trip here, second here), so we knew the drill: take overnight train to Rovaniemi, then 3 hour bus ride to Levi, where we met my family. This time we had rented a cottage that could accomodate all 8 of us:

The Lumovaara – Highly recommend!

Usually I would go to Switzerland for Christmas, and then spend New Year’s Eve in Italy. But to save the bean that stress, my family decided they needed to see how dark it can get in Lapland. Answer: it gets dark, but not as much as we expected:

Mid-day Sun – Just below the horizon

So day doesn’t technically happen, but there is a beautifully colourful sunrise that morphs seamlessly into sunset.

While there were some activities outside (not for me, mind you, I’m way too lazy πŸ˜€ ), we just enjoyed hanging out together in the evenings. My family got to know the bean and vice versa:

Family Hangout

Once we ventured out all together, to go on a cozy (if slightly cold) reindeer sleigh ride:

Reindeer Sleighing – In a Winter wonderland!

The bean came with us, wrapped up well in an extra blanket and inside my jacket:

Family Picture!

All of this was exceedingly nice, but the occurence that made this trip extra special was this:

Finally! Aurora Borealis!

Yep, three time’s the charm! Now I will never ever have to go to Lapland again! πŸ˜› (Just kidding! Kind of…)

It was pretty amazing, even if it lasted only about 10 minutes. I’m sure, now that the pressure of having to see them once in my live is gone, I will see them quite often. πŸ˜‰

Also, with that out of the way (just wanted to induce some jealousy πŸ˜€ ), I leave you with a picture from the bus trip home:

Sun Pillar – apparently a rare occurence as well!

9 thoughts on “The Traveling Never Stops

  1. The photos look amazing! Now I feel like we really need to go to Lapland – I might ask you questions regarding the drill and where to book, etc.! πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. Wow! These are such great photos and I am SO glad you got to see the aurora (& a bit jealous!)! Thank you so much for posting them – they gave me a good blast of cold on this hot sunny day! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. Wow! Amazing views! That reindeer ride looks really exciting! The Bean must have enjoyed that very much! I managed to see the aurora here (just once, but still!) but I hope to go somewhere in the near future with little L!

    Like

    • Thanks! The reindeer ride was a bit less exciting than imagined, as you basically look at a reindeer’s butt for the whole time! πŸ˜›
      The bean, however, really liked it, as he was looking in another direction. πŸ˜€
      If you go, make sure to take the overnight train (or fly) otherwise the 12 hurs it takes are a bit heavy on the little one’s patience…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

